This year is the 50th anniversary since the bells in the tower at St Mary’s Church in Lydiard Park were fully rung for the first time in 40 years.
And the ringing team are inviting readers to visit them and have a swing.
Three of the 5 bells date from 1635 but by the 1920s they could not be rung safely for fear of them tumbling down.
Funds were raised for a new support frame which enabled the bells to be rehung and in 1964, with a new sixth bell, St Mary’s could be heard once again.
The bell tower will be open every Sunday in June from 2pm to 4pm, when visitors can climb the narrow spiral stairs, see where the ringers do their thing and have a pull.
The team would also like to attract new ringing recruits.
There will be cream teas in the stable room with entertainment from a ukelele group.