National awards for parish and town councils supported by association

By Barrie Hudson - 12 June 2024

  • The association has more than 20 member councils across the borough

    The association has more than 20 member councils across the borough

The Wiltshire Association of Local Councils will be supporting the National Association of Local Councils (NALC) Star Council Awards.

The celebrate the hard work and dedication of the local (parish and town) councils sector.

Members of the Wiltshire Association of Local Councils include more than 20 parish councils throughout the Borough of Swindon.

The Star Council Awards are the only awards programme in England specifically designed to acknowledge the impact and contribution of local councils in their communities, and are open to all local councils, councillors, young councillors, clerks, and county associations.

Entrants can apply in six award categories: Council of the Year, Councillor of the Year, Young Councillor of the Year, County Association of the Year, Clerk of the Year, and Climate Response of the Year. 

The award categories have been selected to recognise excellence in different areas of local council operations and highlight the varied contributions made by councils.

Cllr Keith Stevens, NALC chair, said: “We’re delighted to have WALC’s support for the awards. It is a fantastic opportunity for local councils, councillors, young councillors, clerks, and county associations to showcase their achievements and their vital work for their communities. 

"We look forward to celebrating the achievements of those who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to support their communities.”

This year, NALC has introduced a new award dedicated to climate response. This award will recognise the proactive efforts of councils in addressing climate change, emphasising the importance of their role in mitigating impacts, adapting to new conditions, and building resilience for both people and nature. 

By highlighting successful long-term strategies and community engagement, it aims to inspire other councils to take similar actions for a sustainable future.

The nomination period ends on 6 September 2024, and the winners will be announced during a ceremony at the House of Lords, where they will be presented with their awards.

For more information on the Star Council Awards 2024 and how to submit entries can be found at

Your Comments

Be the first to comment on this article

Login or Register to post a comment on this article

Subscribe to The Link

Registered in England & Wales. No: 4513027, Positive Media Group, Old Bank House, 5 Devizes Road, Old Town, Swindon, SN1 4BJ