USA Today bestselling author from Swindon to release new historical mystery novel

By Jessica Durston - 21 September 2022

Arts and Culture

Swindon author Nicola Cornick will be releasing her new historical mystery 'The Winter Garden', next month.

USA Today bestselling Swindon author Nicola Cornick is back with her new release The Winter Garden, which will be published by HQ on 27 October.

A spokesperson for the novel describes the plot: "Sweeping generations from the 1600s to the present day, with the enthralling Gunpowder Plot at its heart, Nicola Cornick’s utterly enchanting new timeslip novel will sweep you off your feet. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Barbara Erskine and Kate Morton.

"1605: Anne Catesby fears for her family. Her son, the darkly charismatic Robert, is secretly plotting to kill the King, placing his wife and child in grave danger. Anne must make a terrible choice: betray her only child, or risk her family’s future.

"Present day: When her dreams of becoming a musician are shattered, Lucy takes refuge in her family’s ancestral home in Oxfordshire. Everyone knows it was originally home to Robert Catesby, the gunpowder plotter. As Lucy spends more time in the beautiful winter garden that Robert had made, she starts to have strange visions of a woman in Tudor dress, terrified and facing a heartbreaking dilemma.

"As Lucy and Anne’s stories converge, a shared secret that has echoed through the centuries separating them, will change Lucy’s life forever."

Nicola Cornick has written over thirty historical romances for Harlequin and HQN Books.

She has been nominated twice for a RWA RITA Award, and twice for the UK RNA Award. She works as a historian and guide in a 17th century house.

In 2006 she was awarded a Masters degree with distinction from Ruskin College, Oxford, where she wrote her dissertation on heroes.

Review information for The Winter Garden:

“I enjoyed every moment of it. Intriguing and with a lovely time slippery twist.” 

Barbara Erskine

“An ingenious tale of mystery and suspense… Enchanting.” 

Dinah Jeffries

“A completely wonderful read. Set during the Wars of the Roses and the present day, it’s historically rich, emotional and magical. I was intrigued and immersed throughout.”

Tracy Rees

“Well, Nicola has done it again! A cracking tale that wouldn’t let me put it down or turn out the light. I absolutely loved it.” 

Katie Fforde

“Atmospheric and beautifully crafted, I guarantee this suspenseful time-slip story will have you up all night to finish.”

Rachel Hore

“A treasure trove of historical insight, casting a new light on a compelling mystery that binds the present to the distant past.”

Fiona Valpy

“I was utterly immersed, forgetting everything but the story and the characters. Nicola’s writing is so vivid and beautiful and perfectly pitched, her plotting addictive.”

Jenny Ashcroft

 

Members of the public will be able to find The Winter Garden in many UK bookstores from 27 October. 

Your Comments

Be the first to comment on this article

Login or Register to post a comment on this article

Registered in England & Wales. No: 4513027, Positive Media Group, Old Bank House, 5 Devizes Road, Old Town, Swindon, SN1 4BJ